For some reason, the sea surrounding the UK has always been a fascinating one to me. Even though I have travelled the world and have seen quite a number of other seas and coasts, still there has always been something very special about the English Channel, the North Sea and the Atlantic hitting the Island of the UK.

And I cannot even describe what it is. It’s not the fact, that it’s raging. I’ve seen many more raging likewise. It’s not the way it is covered in mist. There seems to be no difference from the danish side of the misty North Sea. It’s not the smell, not the colour, not the taste. It’s the mere feeling that I get when being there. No matter if it’s the far north, east, west or east of the island. Or even in-between.

Of course, Poe could not been created by any other island than by this one. I think, it is Poe’s writing that equals the seas and oceans of the UK.

It’s been two years now since I last visited the UK and stood there, astonished as ever, admiring the sea. This year’s going to be a Denmark year, but I really hope to get back to England in the near future.

photography

The Coast of England

Image

Leave a Reply

